Structured Products

Overview of Structured Products

Structured products have features which exchange-traded products do not have, such as quantity, strike price and expiration date etc. Structured products can also be designed according to investor's own views on the market and investment objectives. China Galaxy International can provide different product structure to achieve different investment objectives, such as directional participation like bullish and bearish, yield enhancement, strike price and principle protection.

 

China Galaxy International can provide structured notes issued by third-party issuers in response to client’s different investment objectives.

·Notes can be linked to different asset classes, such as Hong Kong stocks and U.S. stocks.

·Notes are designed according to client’s requirements.


Risks of Structured Products

During the investment period of equity-linked notes, investors are equivalent to holding bonds of the note issuers. If the note issuer defaults or bankrupts during this period, the investor will have to claim the money from the note issuer as a creditor. It is possible that part of or the entire value of the investment could be lost.

 

2. Price fluctuations of the underlying

The derivative feature of equity-linked notes is that ELNs generally sell put options linked to the underlying stock. Therefore, if the price of the underlying stock is lower than the strike price on the maturity date, the investor will purchase the underlying stock at the strike price.

 

3. Not equivalent to direct investment in underlying stocks

The investment in equity-linked notes is not equivalent to investing in the underlying stocks. During the investment period, investors will not have any rights to the underlying stocks, such as receiving dividends or exercising voting rights. If the underlying stock outperforms during the investment period, the value of the equity-linked note may not change accordingly, so its performance may lag behind the underlying stock.

 

4. Liquidity risks of equity-linked notes

If investors try to redeem the equity-linked notes earlier than the maturity date, they will need to request for early redemption from the note issuer.  However, the issuer does not guarantee that it will provide investors with a quoted price from the secondary market as equity-linked notes are traded over-the-counter and the market is not active as secondary market.


How to invest in structured products?

結構性產品

結構性產品概述

結構性產品可以具備交易所產品沒有的規格(如數量、行使價、到期日等),或因應各投資者本身對市場的看法及投資需要而制定。我們可提供不同的產品結構,以達到不同的投資目標,例如看漲看跌,高息、指定行使價,或保本等。

 

中國銀河國際可因應客戶不同的投資需要,提供由協力廠商發行人發行的結構性票據。

·票據可以與不同的資產類別掛鈎,例如港股、美股等

·票據根據客戶的要求量身訂造


結構性產品的風險

1. 票據發行商的信用風險

在投資股票掛鉤票據期內,投資者便等同持有了票據發行商的債券,若票據發行商在此期間發生違約事件或失責事件或破產,投資者便需以債權人身份向票據發行商追討投資款項,投資者有機會損失部分或損失所有投資的款項。

 

2. 掛鉤標的股票的價格波動

股票掛鉤票據的衍生產品部分,一般是賣出了與標的股票掛鉤的認沽期權,所以當股票掛鉤票據定價時,若標的股票的價格是低於行使價,投資者將以行使價購買標的股票。

 

3. 不等於直接投資掛鉤股票

投資股票掛鉤票據並不等同投資掛鉤股票。在投資期內,投資者不會享有對掛鉤股票之任何權利,如收取股息/紅利或行使投票權。如掛鉤股票於投資期內的表現相當強勁,產品之價值未必會出現相應變動甚或不會有任何變動,所以表現可能會落後於掛鉤股票。

 

4. 股票掛鉤票據的流動性風險

由於股票掛鉤票據是以埸外交易方式進行,並無活躍的二級市場,若投資者嘗試于票據到期日前提早贖回相關票據,便需向票據發行商提出提早贖回要求,但票據發行商並不保證會向投資者提供二級市場報價。

如何投資結構性產品?

請致電你的客戶經理查詢